contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

2009 Winners

2019 2018 2017     2016     2015     2014     2013     2012     2011     2010     2009     2008     2007

2009 III  Edition Winners

Best Foreign Fiction


Jhumpa LahiriUnaccustomed Earth  (Guanda) 

Jhumpa Lahiri was born in London, England and raised in Rhode Island. Her debut story collection, The Interpreter of Maladies, won several awards, including the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2000.The Namesake, her first novel, appeared in 2003 spent several weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. She also received a PEN/Hemingway Award, an O. Henry Award, the New Yorker’s Best Debut of the Year Award, and an Addison Metcalf Award. Her latest collection of stories, Unaccustomed Earth, was also a bestseller.

Best Translation


Claudia Zonghetti

Vasily Grossman’s Life and Fate (Adelphi)



David Albahari

David Albahari was born in Pécs, former Yugoslavia, in 1948. He has published nine collections of short stories and eleven novels in Serbian, includingLeeches ( 2005). His collection of short stories Description of Death won the Ivo Andriç Award for the best book of short stories published in Yugoslavia in 1982, as well as the Balcanica Award and the Berlin Bridge Prize. His books have been translated into sixteen languages. He is a member of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts.


Andrew Sean GreerThe Story of a Marriage (Adelphi)

Andrew Sean Greer was born in Washington. After the publication his debut short-story collection, How It Was For Me, his first novel,The Path of Minor Planets, was published to much acclaim in 2001, and his second book, The Confessions of Max Tivoli, came out in 2004. His latest novel is The Story of a Marriage. He lives in San Francisco.


Deborah EisenbergTwilight of the Superheroes (Alet Edizioni)

Deborah Eisenberg grew up in suburban Chicago, Illinois. She is the author of four collections of stories, most recentlyTwilight of the Superheroes, and one play, Pastorale, which was produced at Second Stage in New York. The recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award, a Lannan Foundation Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Rea Award for the Short Story, she is also a frequent contributor to the New York Review of Books.


Richard FordThe Lay of the Land (Feltrinelli)

Richard Ford was born in Jackson, Mississippi, in 1944. He has published five novels and three collections of stories, including The SportswriterIndependence DayWildlifeA Multitude of Sins and The Lay of the Land in October 2006. Independence Day was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. His long-awaited new novel, The Lay of the Land, is his third Frank Bascombe trilogy, following the bestselling The Sportswriter and Independence Day.


Ingo Schulze, Handy: Dreizhen Geschichten in alter Manier (Feltrinelli)

Ingo Schulze was born in Dresden in 1962, studied in Jena and worked in Altenburg as a drama advisor and newspaper editor. He has lived in Berlin since 1993. He received the Berliner Literaturpreis and Johannes-Bobrowski-Medaille for Simple Stories (1998). He won this year’s Premio Grinzane Cavour for his great novel Neue Leben, published in 2005. His story collection Handywas awarded the 2007 Leipzig Book Fair Prize. Ingo Schulze is a member of the Akademie der Künste Berlin and of the Deutsche Akademie für Sprache und Dichtkunst. He lives in Berlin.