contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

2010 Winners

2019 2018 2017     2016     2015     2014     2013     2012     2011     2010     2009     2008     2007

2010 IV  Edition Winners

Best Foreign Fiction


Percival EverettWounded (Nutrimenti)

Percival Everett was born in Fort Gordon, Georgia in 1957. He is Distinguish Professor at University of Southern California. He won in 2002 the Hurstun/Wright Legacy Award for his novelErasure. He wrote collections of short stories, two volumes of poetry. Among his novels, American Desert (2004), Damned if I do (2004), Wounded (2005),The Water Cure (2007) and I am not Sidney Poitier (2009)


Percival Everett’s Wounded is a happily hyperbolic novel which shows us the American New Arcadia in all its sublime nature. The red desert of Wyoming is a sort of vertiginous, static second protagonist to the actions and destinies of man. But it is also inextricably intertwined with the anxiety and torment of american identity: what are its limits, what are its responsibilities, what is the ideal morphology of the individual in relation to others – neighbors, strangers, the unnoticed and the unaccepted?

On his ranch, just steps from the seemingly endless desert, the protagonist John Hunt - a black cowboy with a degree from Berkeley, and a scholar of Kandinsky and Klee – raises horses and reflects, like a philospher, on the universal value of piety and its particular applications. The contradictions of history, the paradox of mortality and Hunt’s fierce reactions to injustice constitute the fulcrum of this exceptional novel, which speeds towards its difficult conclusion. It reveals the secrets and tremors of a humanity that in one moment can contradict itself and rush towards the inhumane, while intimately and structurally maintaining itself in an indication, a suggestion, of hope. 

Best Translation


Maurizia Balmelli, Cormac McCarthy’s Suttree (Einaudi)

Maurizia Balmelli born in Locarno, Switzerland in 1970, has long lived in Paris where he studied theater at the Ecole International du Théâtre Jacque Lecoq and taken the first steps in publishing as a reader working with Hachette. In 1996 she arrived in Turin to attend the Golden Master and two years after she started her first translation, I am the dark by Fred Vargas. Since then she travels with her cat between Switzerland and Italy, translating from French and English for several leading publishing houses and literary translation workshops. Among the authors translated, Roman Gary, J.M.G. Le Clézio, Agota Kristof, Emmanuel Carrère. She is currently translating a novel by Martin Amis.



Héctor AbadThe Oblivion We Shall Be (Einaudi)

Héctor Abad was born in Medellín, Colombia in 1958. Novelist, journalist. He also translated works by Italo Calvino, Leonardo Sciascia, Primo Levi, Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa and Natalia Ginzburg. Among his books, Angosta, El Olvido que Seremos (The Oblivion We Shall Be – 2006). His works have been translated into a number of languages. Héctor Abad has also been a fellow at Santa Maddalena.


Nam Le, The Boat (Guanda)

Nam Le was born in Vietnam (1978) and raised in Australia. His first book, The Boat was received with great acclaim and won the PEN/Malamud Award, the Australian Prime Minister’s Literary Award, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, the Dylan Thomas Prize, The Melbourne Prize and a U.S. National Book Foundation “5 Under 35” Fiction Selection and the “book of the year”  in numerous selections around the world. The Boat has been translated into thirteen languages. Nam Le is the fiction editor of the Harvard Review. He has also been a fellow at Santa Maddalena.


Jean EchenozI'm Off (Adelphi)

Jean Echenoz was born in Orange, France (1947). He published his first book, Le méridien de Greenwich in 1979. In 1983 he receivd the Prix Médicis for Cherokee and in the same year the Prix Aresteion for Lac. In 1999 he received the Prix Goncourt for I’m Off (Je m’en vais). Among his books Jérôme Lindon,Ravel (Ravel – The New Press, 2007), Courir (Running – The New Press, 2009).