contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

2014 Winners

2019 2018 2017     2016     2015     2014     2013     2012     2011     2010     2009     2008     2007



Best Foreign Fiction


Maylis de Kerangal, Nascita di un ponte (Feltrinelli)

This year Maylis de Kerangal with Birth of a bridge - Feltrinelli, a translation by Maria Baiocchi and Alessia Piovanello - is the winner of the eighth edition of the Premio Gregor von Rezzori for the best foreign fiction work translated in Italy. Maylis de Kerangal is the author of seven books: Birth of a Bridge also won both the prix Franz Hessel and prix Médicis in the same year as well as being a finalist for the Goncourt, Femina and Flore prizes.  She has also worked as the editor of Éditions du Baron and in May will release the fictional pop homage, Dans les rapides.



 "In times of solipsism, of narratives intimidated by a world too big to be related, a choral and epic novel like Birth of a bridge, comes as a meteor. The story is one of a pharaonic bridge that struggles to be raised in an imaginary America where jungle and future go hand in hand day after day. But this story is above all the one of every single men and women that are heading, from all over the planet, towards this bridge. Everyone with its own story and with their families shattered from the New World that the Bridge somehow symbolises. And there they are, all together: a magnet, and with it a myriad of iron filings that make time and space go back.

Someway it is like a reversed furore this book of Maylis de Kerangal: not the misery that puts masses in motion - altogether - but the exact opposite, the money that rises up to the sky in the shape of a bridge, like a sun of the future made of steel and calculations, sweat, screws and bolts. A choir of voices in common, literature that accepts the challenge of narrating the whole world and not just a splinter stuck who knows where. And all held together by an intense language, attentive to detail, so pressing. It's this language the true miracle of this novel, the evidence of a writer who still demands everything from literature, facing the world directly in the eyes.


2014 VIII Edition Finalists

Leopoldo Brizuela 2_photo di Alejandra López.jpg

Leopoldo Brizuela, Una Stessa Notte (Ponte alle Grazie)

Leopoldo Brizuela (Argentina, 1963) is a novelist, translator and one of the leading Argentine writers of his generation. His novel England won the prestigious Clarin Award, he has translated the works of writers including Henry James and Flannery O’Connor and was awarded the Premio Alfaguara in 2012 for The Same Night,  published in the UK by Thames River.


Dave Eggers, Ologramma per il re (Mondadori)

Dave Eggers (USA, 1970) is the author of nine books, including The Circle (2013), The Wild Things  (2009) and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (2001). He is the founder of McSweeney’s, an independent publishing company based in San Francisco that produces books, a quarterly journal of new writing (McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern), and a monthly magazine, The Believer. Together with his wife, Vendela Vida, he wrote the script for the film Away We Go, directed by Sam Mendes. Eggers is the co-founder of 826 Valencia, a network tutoring centers around the US. He lives in Northern California with his family.

Georgi Gospodinov.jpg

Georgi Gospodinov, Fisica della malinconia (Voland) 

Georgi Gospodinov (Bulgaria, 1968) is a poet, novelist, playwright and screenwriter, as well as the most translated Bulgarian author since 1989. Four of his poetry collections have been awarded national literary prizes but it was, Natural Novel (2010) published in 23 languages, that lead to his international acclaim. Physics of Sorrow which has already won the National Award for Best Novel of the Year, will be published by Open Letter in US this Autumn. He lives and works in Sofia.

Tom McCarthy, C   (Bompiani)

Tom MaCarthy (England, 1969) is a writer and artist whose work has been translated in 20 languages. His widely praised first novel, Remainder, won the 2008 Believer Book Award and is currently being adapted for cinema. C, was a finalist for the Man Booker in 2010 and the Walter Scott Prize. In addition, he is the founder of the International Necronautical Society, a semi-fictitious avant-garde network of writers, artists and philosophers. In 2013, he was awarded the inaugural Windham Campbell Prize for Fiction by Yale University.