contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.


We are thrilled to announce the finalists for this year's
Premio Gregor von Rezzori:

Mathias Énard, Bussola, e/o
László Krasznahorkai, Satantango, Bompiani
Édouard Louis, Storia della violenza, Bompiani
Valeria Luiselli, Storia dei miei denti, La nuova frontiera
Clemens Meyer, Eravamo dei grandissimi, Keller

The winner of the prize for translation is Anna D'Elia for the translation of Antoine Volodine, Terminus radioso, 66thand2nd


The Festival degli Scrittori is a three day event that takes place in Florence each June. Located in beautiful historic palazzi, the festival's many events celebrate the best writing from around the world, with visiting international authors, theatrical readings of canonical texts, a Lectio Magistralis delivered by a major writer and all culminating in the award ceremony for the Premio Gregor von Rezzori-Città di Firenze, given in the Salone dei Cinquecento of Palazzo Vecchio for the best work of foreign fiction translated into Italian that year. 

View 2016 short list >
View 2016 Finalists >

The Premio Gregor von Rezzori – Città di Firenze was founded in 2007 in honour of the Central European novelist. Initially held in the monastery of Vallombrosa, it moved to Florence in 2010 and expanded to become a literary festival including readings, interviews and theatrical events. Two prizes are awarded. The first is given to the best work of foreign fiction published in Italy within the last year, and aims to provide an international forum for writers and the Italian public to meet and discuss literature and the world of ideas. In 2016, this was awarded to Mircea Cartarescu for his book Blinding, by a jury comprised of Ernesto Ferrero, the jury’s president, Beatrice von Rezzori, President of the Santa Maddalena Foundation, Andrea Bajani, Alberto Manguel and Edmund White. The Festival also seeks to confront literary parochialism by introducing Italians and others to exciting contemporary fiction appearing in other languages. To that end, a second prize is awarded to the best translation into Italian that year. Last year the prize was awarded to Fulvio Ferrari, for his translation of L'arte di collezionare mosche (Fly Trapby Fredrik Sjöberg.

Each year the festival also includes a lectio magistralis. These have so far been given by Claudio Magris, John Banville, Carlos Fuentes, Michael Cunningham, Zadie SmithMichael OndaatjePatrick McGrath, Emmanuel Carrère and Jhumpa Lahiri. Last year’s lectio was given by Etgar Keret.

The tenth edition of the Festival degli Scrittori took place between 6th and 8th June 2016.

More on the Premio >